Speed is relative

Einstein taught that time and speed are relative to our frame of reference. I experienced this in the swimming pool recently. I’m working hard to swim at less than one yard per second. It feels fast to me.

hof poolThe national swim teams from Hungary and Italy have been training at my local swimming pool. While swimming my (fifty yards in sixty seconds) laps, I looked up to watch several Hungarian swimmers swimming lap after lap, with no pause. One was swimming backstroke 50 yard laps in 14 seconds. That’s more than two yards per second — lap after lap. Gulp. That’s way over twice as fast as I swim freestyle. These guys are flying.

Their coach later explained that these guys are headed to the Olympics and most are under twenty-one years old.

I can’t blame this speed difference on Einstein. These swimmers are young, gifted, and train hard. It just seems like they’re in a different universe.

Leave a Reply

