Restore Android contacts

I drowned my three month old Samsung SGH-T399 Galaxy Light phone. It slipped into my bath water as I was using it in the tub. I quickly rescued it, yanked out its battery, SIM card, and SD card, and tucked it into a nice dry bed of uncooked white rice for the night. In the morning it started normally, but its display flickered and failed after warming up.

Import contacts.vcf screenshotI purchased a replacement SGH-T399 phone and installed my favorite apps on it. My Google Mail contacts were restored,  but the remaining contacts were not restored. By moving quickly,  I was able to go to the Contacts app on the old phone and export them to a contacts.vcf file. Then I used a USB cable to make the old phone a slave to a Windows 7 PC host. I copied the contacts.vcf file to the host PC’s store. (The contacts.vcf file is located in the phone’s /storage/emulated/0/ folder.)

Then I removed the old phone from the USB cable, and replaced it with the new phone. Next I copied the contacts.vcf file from the PC’s store to the /storage/emulated/0/ folder on the new phone,  ran its Contacts app, and imported contacts.vcf. Done!

My new phone now has the contacts from my old phone. Both phones run Android 4.2.2.

Visit my website: http://russbellew.com
© Russ Bellew · Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA · phone 954 873-4695

Leave a Reply

