T-Mobile pulled the plug on their contacts backup server

Here’s evidence that some communications companies do a poor job of communicating not only with their customers, but internally, as well.

t-mobile contacts backup screenLast Friday, my trusty old Samsung SGH-T679 Android (Gingerbread) smartphone died. I purchased a replacement SGH-T399 from the T-Mobile store, and the salesperson wrote my subscriber data to its micro-SIM card. I merely needed to install my favorite apps and restore my contacts from T-Mobile’s contacts synchronization server:

  1. Install apps? Check.
  2. Restore contacts? Negative. Why? In July, T-Mobile pulled the plug on their contacts synchronization server. It, and my contacts list, has been taken off-line.

After a little hunting, I found this message on T-Mobile’s website:

Contacts was a free service that allowed you to backup up to 5,000 contacts on a secure T-Mobile server. Contacts has now been retired.

If you stored contacts on your phone, don’t worry, they are still there and will remain on your phone. But what happens if you lose your phone and haven’t backed up your contacts? Without a backup, your contacts will be lost forever . . .

I tested the T-Mobile contacts backup (or synchronization) system last year. It worked fine. When I needed it last week, it didn’t work. I cannot imagine a reason why T-Mobile would think that closing down the contacts backup service was a good idea.

Rachel, T-Mobile’s helpful second-level support person, reported that T-Mobile’s management told employees that third party email providers such as Google provide contacts backup services, gratis. The problem is that Google’s terms of service grant Google carte blanche to your contacts (and everything else that you store with Google). They’re free to reveal all your contacts to anyone, including your competitors.

  • An incomplete restoration
    Rachel had a subset of my contacts in the form of a comma-delimited file (.CSV) sent to me. It was very out of date — maybe a year old — and contained first name, last name, and phone number only. Email address, notes, company, etc. were missing. I imported this file into a spreadsheet, edited it, and imported the edited CSV file into my contacts.

I’m surprised that Rachel and her colleagues at T-mobile didn’t object when management proposed this dumb idea. Customers seem not to have been asked their opinions. It sounds like at T-Mobile, all communication is one way: from the top down.

This dumb move by T-mobile has annoyed other customers. My guess is that it’s a breach of my contract with them.

Visit my website: http://russbellew.com
© Russ Bellew · Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA · phone 954 873-4695

Leave a Reply

