Listen to podcasts when streaming fails

I listen to loads of pre-recorded and live podcasts on my Android phone. podcast icon headphonesMost are technical; others are about ideas, current events, science, and sports. Duration varies from a few minutes to a few hours. My go-to podcast listening app is Tunein. It works fine 9 times out of 10. Occasionally, though, I’m unable to stream the entire pre-recorded podcast file.

Usually the problem seems to reside with the podcast server, but sometimes the IP transport is at fault. Regardless, I then resort to plan B: I first download and save the mp3 file, then use the Winamp or VLC app to listen to the downloaded file. On my (2.3.4 Gingerbread) Android phone, both players are more flexible than Android’s built-in sound player. Winamp works well, but it may no longer be available.

Visit my website: http://russbellew.com
© Russ Bellew · Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA · phone 954 873-4695

Leave a Reply

