Free up Android storage

My Android phone was running out of free storage space. I discovered that the phone’s /mnt/sdcard/Android/data/com.cooliris.media folder was consuming about 500 Megabytes(!). Apparently this folder contains the cache for Gallery3D, an app that I never use, and thumbnail images and indexes for Gallery.

Samsung Android SmartphoneShortly after startup, either Gallery or Gallery3D appends indexes in the folder until the drive is nearly full. The phone slows to a crawl while this indexing runs in the background. I haven’t found a way to stop this behavior on my unrooted Android Gingerbread phone, so periodically I must liberate storage space.

I use Task Manager’s Storage option to check available storage space. If there’s almost no storage space available, I use ES File Explorer to delete the /mnt/sdcard/Android/data/com.cooliris.media folder. Don’t worry, the folder will soon be recreated.

What’s in a name?
Note that Samsung names its RAM drive device sdcard. It’s not actually an sdcard — it’s just a RAM drive. In my phone, the actual sdcard device is named external_sd. It’s confusing, but we must live with it.

Visit my website: http://russbellew.com
© Russ Bellew · Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA · phone 954 873-4695

Leave a Reply

