Microcomputer chess in 1977 vs today

I confess: I’m a terrible chess player. Despite my lack of skill I like the game and in the days of 8-bit microprocessors I closely followed the progress of chess-playing programs.

Microchess on Commodore PET
Microchess on Commodore PET
Peter Jennings’ Microchess (“the first game program sold for home computers”) on my Commodore PET (1 MHz 8-bit 6502 CPU and 8 Kilobytes of memory) consistently beat me, so I respected Microchess. I’m pleased as punch to have just found the Microchess 6502 Assembler source code on line! I loved reading about the birth and growth of Microchess on Peter’s Microchess page:

I love programming. It is almost impossible to explain the joy of writing software to someone who has not experienced it.

First and foremost, it is an act of creation. From a simple thought, and the arrangement of a few words and symbols, a reality is created that did not exist before.

No other activity can keep you in the moment the way that writing software can. At each step, one hundred percent of your concentration is applied to the solving of the current problem. Time disappears.

A well written program is a work of art. From conception to final presentation, the activity is that of an artist – the embodiment of a dream world expressed as an interactive experience for the user.

This is the way I have always felt about programming. And in particular, from its early stages, I thought of Microchess as my work of art.

I agree 100 percent.

Today, www.chess.com hosts multiple chess games and provides an online venue where you can play chess against their computer or against players from novice to grandmaster. It also provides free chess apps for iPhone, Android, Java, and Palm mobile phones.

Visit my website: http://russbellew.com
© Russ Bellew · Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA · phone 954 873-4695