My Android phone has become an audio library.

Podcast icon 200w

icon: Yagraph
For me, having podcasts in my pocket is the smartphone’s killer app.

I’ve mentioned that I like to listen to audio as I program computers. (One exception: when I must concentrate on a stubborn problem, I need silence.) With my new Android phone, I can listen as I take walks, as well. At the moment, I’m listening to a 15-minute long biographical sketch of mathematician Joseph Fourier.

This podcast is part of BBC’s A Brief History of Mathematics. I found this series within the History section of the free BBC Podcasts app that I downloaded from the Google Play Store. The BBC Podcasts app is loaded with podcasts, neatly arranged by category. So far, I’ve stuck with the factual, scientific, and historical ones. It’s a goldmine that costs nothing.

I’ve also been listening to the technology podcasts that are available within the Tunein app. These include Michio Kaku’s Explorations in Science, The Wall Street Journal’s Technology Marketplace Report, etc. You can download the Tunein app from the Google Play Store, as well.

I’m overjoyed to have stumbled upon these podcast apps, because (as you may have guessed) the program content that I like to listen to isn’t standard broadcast fare. For me, the promise of “content on demand” has been fulfilled. I’m grateful to these podcasters for making this material available.

If you have an iPhone, I’d guess that the same apps are available from the iTunes store.

Visit my website: http://russbellew.com
© Russ Bellew · Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA · phone 954 873-4695

Leave a Reply

