Occasionally, Apple’s single-vendor model makes sense.

Simply connecting my cellphone wirelessly to my netbook proved to be much harder than it should be.

Last week I bought my third Samsung SGH-T439 cellphone. It’s a 2007-vintage product: a very small flip-phone. I’m fond of the product, so when I found a great deal on eBay, I pounced. I learned on howardforums.com that Samsung has a program (called PC Studio 3) that allows a Windows PC to exchange files with cellphones such as mine.

Since I was using a Windows XP netbook with a Bluetooth adapter, I thought that I’d try connecting the netbook to the cellphone via Bluetooth. It sounds easy . . . and it could be, except that multiple hardware and software vendors’ products need to communicate nicely and securely with each other.

After failing several times to get this multi-layer system to work, I carefully documented the interface of each layer: function, ports, protocols, passwords, and eventually got it to work. The task required at least an hour . . . and I understand most of the technology and vocabulary! The layperson would have little or no chance of making this setup work.

It’s at times like these that I appreciate the rationale of Apple’s single-vendor approach.

Visit my website: http://russbellew.com
© Russ Bellew · Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA · phone 954 873-4695
3 thoughts on “Occasionally, Apple’s single-vendor model makes sense.”

  1. I guess, except that Apple gives very little flexibility — you have to do things their way, and their prices are still really high (no wonder they’re one of the wealthiest companies in the world!). Syncing an iphone to an XP computer is do-able but a little bit of a pain. As a free-thinker who is somewhat competent with computers, I find it a pain. I don’t care for itunes. I don’t wanna be pushed into their store. And I’m not the only one who has had trouble getting the stupid phone to not ring when telemarketers keep calling. On an Adroid, it would be a no-brainer, included with the phone. Not so with the iphone. Little stuff like that is really annoying, and I can’t imagine being forced to comply when using their other products, so they are not on my list of stuff to buy. Grumble, grumble….

    Like

    1. I wonder why your iPhone won’t allow you to block certain incoming calls (such as from telemarketers)? My little Samsung flip-phone allows me to review incoming call history, highlight the obnoxious caller’s telephone number, click, and choose “Add to block list”. Result: I never hear from them again.

      Surely Apple COULD add this function to its iPhones’ software, so why don’t they? Any speculation?

      Like

  2. I don’t know why no “silent ring” has ever been included with the iphones. Probably because they want to sell them and make a couple more $$ off their customers.

    Some have called Steve Jobs a visionary who gave us things that we didn’t know we wanted. In this case, he gave us a product that lacks something; I can only guess that he didn’t think we needed a silent ring. Perhaps he never had to deal with telemarketers….

    These are the best answers to getting a FREE silent ring that I’ve found. And yes, it works!
    http://richardkmiller.com/702/iphone-tip-use-a-silent-ringtone-to-screen-calls-in-your-sleep
    http://discussions.apple.com/thread.jspa?messageID=6018100&#6018100

    Like

Leave a Reply

