The hits just keep coming.


XP Total Security 2012 Trojan Horse screen view
More bad guys than ever are launching cyber-attacks for fun and profit.

Desktop Attacks

I’ve recently encountered an old enemy: a Trojan Horse that’s been around for 3 years or more. It’s recently calling itself XP Total Security 2012 and it’s gotten nastier and more tenacious than its earlier incarnations. I no longer spend much time trying to remove this bad boy: I just backup the infected computer’s data, format the hard drive, re-install Windows, and restore the (scanned) data. Most security experts agree with this tactic.

Server Attacks

Elinor Mills, in an article that appeared in CNet News, June 17, 2011: Keeping up with the hackers, included a chart of recent major break-ins.There are some surprising headliners in the Victims column: RSA, who specialize in security, Sony makes multiple appearances, payroll giant ADP, Citigroup, US Senate,et al.

Sony has been hacked so often, that there’s even a website, hassonybeenhackedthisweek.com. This can’t be good for Sony’s reputation!

I’m thinking of moving from Windows to Ubuntu for my daily web-browsing, just to avoid these constant attacks, security patches, updates, etc.

Visit my website: http://russbellew.com
© Russ Bellew · Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA · phone 954 873-4695
2 thoughts on “The hits just keep coming.”

  1. Having just gone through this, I can confirm that it’s a huge time-sink. I’ve been a heavy computer user for about 25 years and my computers never had any viruses because I was so diligent. With this rootkit, I threw every anti-virus and anti-trojan product I could find against it, and ultimately had to reformat. I just hope that the data I saved is not infected….

    After researching the issue, I found that some folks who know more than I do about computers have wasted far more time than I did (before reformatting), so I don’t feel so bad! Reformatting and reloading all the windows updates alone takes many hours; in my case, I had to upload about 200 microsoft updates after booting from my MS disk, and maybe 15-20 reboots in the process.

    Like

    1. One way out of this mess is to try Ubuntu, Xubuntu, or another distribution (“distro”) of GNU/Linux. Maybe give it a try before reinstalling Windows. While Ubuntu isn’t perfect, it’s surprisingly easy for a Windows user to learn and includes lots of useful Windows-like apps.

      Ubuntu 10.04 usually installs without problem on most modern computers. I have though, had problems installing it on two desktops (both Dell Dimensions). Some Windows apps will run nicely on Ubuntu by using a shim called “Wine”.

      The big advantages of all GNU/Linux distros are that (1) all licensing issues disappear and (2) all virus/malware problems disappear.

      Like

Leave a Reply

