Alltheweb.com is shuffling to the deadpool

Logo: AllTheWeb
Google stomps out one more competitor.

My second favorite search engine is going to disappear. I began using alltheweb.com back in 1999, before I used Google. I liked its simple user interface and its huge index. I think that it was located in Europe. Once I began using Google, I’d still use AllTheWeb as my primary search engine. As Google’s index and services exploded in size, I demoted AllTheWeb to the role of my secondary search engine.

Now, Yahoo (AllTheWeb’s owner since c 2004) has posted this notice on AllTheWeb’s home page:

Yahoo! will be closing AlltheWeb on April 4, 2011, as we focus on other features to improve your search experience. Starting on April 4, 2011, http://www.alltheweb.com will redirect to Yahoo! Search at http://search.yahoo.com. Thanks for your understanding.

It’s sad to see Google’s competitors shlepping off to the deadpool, because it’s one less alternative for everyone.

Visit my website: http://russbellew.com
© Russ Bellew · Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA · phone 954 873-4695
Leave a Reply

