Fathers’ Day with Bill Gates’ father

A conversation with William Gates Sr. and Bill Gates Jr.

CBS video: One Family. Two Bill Gates (CBS requires Flash. Sorry.)

Meet Bill Gates’ father and sisters.

23145310eb5738234c5aa8c41c39bda8CBS-TV ran a video segment about Bill Gates’ father today (Fathers’ Day) on their Sunday Morning show. I enjoyed seeing the house where Chairman Bill was raised, including the bedroom window through which he escaped at night to debug a computer with friend Paul Allen at a local company. His sisters share his looks and humor.

Read about Bill Gates’ origins, in a fascinating 1997 Time Magazine article by Walter Isaacson, In Search Of The Real Bill Gates. Here’s an excerpt:

In ninth grade,” Gates recalls over dinner one night, “I came up with a new form of rebellion. I hadn’t been getting good grades, but I decided to get all A’s without taking a book home. I didn’t go to math class, because I knew enough and had read ahead, and I placed within the top 10 people in the nation on an aptitude exam. That established my independence and taught me I didn’t need to rebel anymore.”

By 10th grade he was teaching computers and writing a program that handled class scheduling, which had a secret function that placed him in classes with the right girls.

His best friend was Kent Evans, son of a Unitarian minister. “We read FORTUNE together; we were going to conquer the world,” says Gates. “I still remember his phone number.” Together with Paul Allen, they formed the official-sounding Lakeside Programmers Group and got a job writing a payroll system for a local firm. A furious argument, the first of many, ensued when Allen tried to take over the work himself. But he soon realized he needed the tireless Gates back to do the coding. “O.K., but I’m in charge,” Gates told him, “and I’ll get used to being in charge, and it’ll be hard to deal with me from now on unless I’m in charge.” He was right.

This Time article is a really well-done insight into what makes Bill Gates tick. I’ve read biographies of Mr. Gates and thought that I knew most of the details of Bill Gates’ history. I was wrong: this article revealed still more details.


photo credits: Charlie Rose show and gatesnotes.com

Visit my website: http://russbellew.com
Russ Bellew · Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA · phone 954 873-4695

Leave a Reply

