My war against junk mail continues

Photo by Dvortygirl
This war won’t be won in just one battle.

 

Since starting my campaign to reduce the flood of (paper) junk mail that’s been polluting my mailbox, I’ve had some success. I’m very happy with Catalog Choice. I created an account on their website, where I can request that their member catalog companies either stop mailing to me or I can request that they send me their catalog. What I like, is that they keep me updated with the status of my requests:

Recent Mail Preference Activity * View | Details – 1 day ago – We sent your request to ValPak* View | Details – 1 day ago – We sent your request to Clipper Magazine* View | Details – 18 days ago – Office Depot confirmed your request

* View | Details – 25 days ago – Brookstone confirmed your request

* View | Details – 29 days ago – Bed, Bath, & Beyond confirmed your request

* View | Details – 29 days ago – Bed, Bath, & Beyond confirmed your request

* View | Details – about 1 month ago – OfficeMax confirmed your request

* View | Details – about 1 month ago – We sent your request to Dell

* View | Details – about 1 month ago – JC Penney received your request

* View | Details – about 1 month ago – We sent your request to Lands’ End

Some national advertisers seem to have removed me from their mailing lists. Local mailers (restaurants, stores, health clubs, etc.) still send me their junk mail. My guess is that many of them purchase or rent mailing lists and suck the entries into their own mailing lists, so names that have been removed from the parent list will never be removed from the child lists . . . unless I contact them directly and request that they remove my name.

I’ve begun to do just that: I locate their website and try to obtain the name and email address of their owner, CEO, sales manager, publisher, etc. Then I send them a short email that asks them to remove me from their list. A typical message reads

Dear Mr. Smith,
Today I received an unsolicited advertising piece from your firm. Its label reads

******EERG**CCG-50

776 RFG

RUSS BELLEW

100 MY STREET

MY TOWN, FL 33444

I do not wish to receive any unsolicited advertising of any kind from your company or its affiliates or subsidiaries.

Please remove my name and address from your mailing lists and do not rent, sell or trade my name or address.

Thanks,

Russ Bellew

I recently discovered Wikihow’s Get Rid Of Junk Mail page. It contains excellent ideas.

I will occasionally publish progress reports on my war against junk mail. Even though my mailbox is sagging and may fall to the ground, I shall not flag or fail. I shall go on to the end. I shall fight on the web, I shall fight in the mails, I shall defend my mailbox, whatever the cost may be. I shall never surrender.

Leave a Reply

