Koobface worm threatens social networking users.

Don’t click!
 
If, while using Facebook, Myspace, or Friendster, you receive a message from a supposed friend with a subject such as "you look funny in this new video" or "is it u there?", delete the message wihout reading it.
 
If you open the message and click on the video link, you’ll be taken to a Youtube-like site (which actually includes the word "youtube" in its domain name) which will tell you that your Flash player is out of date. If you click on the Download button, you’ll install the Koobface worm.  This worm installs itself on your computer and (1) searches your PC’s cookies for credit card data and (2) waits for you to purchase something online. Once the Koobface worm captures your credit card data it uploads your credit card data to the bad guy(s), and you’re sunk.
 
Koobface takes advantage of the trusting nature of social networking sites’ users, who think that messages may be sent from bona fide friends only. (They’re wrong: infected computers propagate the worm to other Facebook users without permission of the computers’ owners.) The lesson? On the Internet, Trust no one.

There are many Koobface variants. Facebook security recommends that you reset your Facebook password and scan your computer for viruses with an up to date scanner. Read more: http://www.kaspersky.com/news?id=207575670
 
Visit my website: russbellew.com
 
 
 
Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s