Receive answers from Google on your cell phone.

I use this to obtain weather, addresses, phone numbers, and driving directions.

 This is a variation of Homer Simpson’s surprised exclamation, "Oh, They Have the Internet on Computers Now!" Google is pushing information from the Internet unto cell phones — even simple cell phones.

Google has entered the mobile market with a variety of products, including their free SMS (Short Message Service — "text messaging" to you and me) service.

Most cell phones include text messaging at little or no extra cost; here’s a way to receive useful information on your plain Jane cellphone even if it can’t directly access the Internet. Google charges nothing for the service; your cell carrier may or may not charge you for each message.

I use Google SMS to receive driving directions, estimated drive times, weather forecasts, business addresses and phone numbers. Sports fans can receive the latest scores. It can quote stock prices, and estimated flight arrival times. I find that it replies to my queries within 10 seconds or so. 

Here is Google SMS’s response to my query, "33302 to tamarac, fl":
(1/4)Directions:
Distance: 16 mi (about 27 mins) 8 steps.
1. Head north on S Andrews Ave toward W Broward Blvd (0.1)
2. Turn left at W Broward Blvd (1.5)
. . . etc. 
3 thoughts on “Receive answers from Google on your cell phone.”

  1. I don’t know if it’s just me or if perhaps everyone else experiencing issues with your site. It appears as if some of the text in your posts are running off the screen. Can somebody else please comment and let me know if this is happening to them as well? This might be a issue with my browser because I’ve had this happen previously. Thanks

    Like

    1. Thanks for the feedback, Andrew.

      This blog originally began on Microsoft’s Live Spaces blogging platform, which they abandoned. In early 2011, I moved the existing articles from that platform to WordPress.com, using the DePo Square theme.. Microsoft provided the tool to perform the move. Some of the formatting was damaged by the move, which hurt the appearance of some articles.

      Recently, I’ve been slowly editing older articles to improve their appearance.. The HTML tags that I’ve found in the moved messages don’t always make lots of sense. In some cases, I’ve deleted all of them and started over, but in most cases I’ve tried to keep what Microsoft’s tool gave me and worked around the mysterious tags.

      To help me in my effort to improve article formatting, please answer 2 questions:

      1. What browser (Internet Explorer 8?, Mozilla Firefox 7?, Opera? etc.) are you using?

      2. Do you experience this problem on any of my recent articles? Those that were published within the past 6 months?

      I want to make this blog as pleasant to read as I can, and will appreciate your help.

      Thanks again for your feedback,
      Russ

      Like

Leave a Reply

